ImageThis week, we finally said goodbye to my beloved 1996 Honda Accord. She was having some transmission troubles, and it was time for her to go. Now that we have a replacement car, we’ve been trying to figure out the best way to send her on her way. It turns out that’s complicated:

  • The dealership offered us $1 for the car as a trade-in when we bought the Kia. Uh, no thanks.
  • We couldn’t sell it to another person because it has to have passed a smog test within the last 60 days for that to be legal. Though the car was having no emissions problems, a check engine light is an automatic failure (of course, a bum transmission means you definitely have a check engine light on).
  • We were running out of time before we’d have to pay to register it again with the state (not cheap!) for another year.

So – we ended up selling it for $600 to the folks at DamagedCars.com. It was definitely worth more, but we were ready to be done with it.

It’s sad to get rid of a car, though! When Jon texted me that they were picking up the car, I texted back, “Take a picture!” and he sent me this one. Goodbye old car. Thanks for bringing me to California, driving me all around this state and the nearby ones, and helping me start a new life on the West Coast. Job well done.

