One of the things on my 30 things to do before I turn 30 list is to grow food. In our little apartment, it’s not as easy to have a garden as I might like. So for now, my plan is to start out by trying some potatoes.

Last night, Jon and I got home from our friend David’s birthday party and I still felt pretty energetic, while he was feeling more like watching TV. We compromised by him sitting on the couch and reading me planting directions from the iPad while I planted potatoes, and then watching TV afterwards.

I had ordered some potting soil and a smart pot last weekend, so I just added in the potatoes I’d set aside that were starting to grow on their own. These are a combination of Eatwell potatoes and farmer’s market potatoes.

Here’s what they looked like before I covered them with soil. They’re now sitting on our front porch soaking up the Sunday sun. I’ll keep you posted.

