I have updates on several items from my 30 by 30 list:

Family Tree
I started an account on Ancestry.com about three weeks ago, but only got about half an hour in before I needed to do something else. I finally got back into the site tonight while on the phone with my Dad and entered some new information that let me go back several more generations. I also got information from my mom, and so far I’m 10 generations back on her side of the family and 7 back on Dad’s side. I’ve found family from England, Germany, and Barbados. I’ve also found neat things like draft cards and applications to the Daughters of the American Revolution organization.

My 30 by 30 list said that I was going to “start” looking into my family tree, so I’m going to count this one as complete right now. I could literally spend hundreds of hours on this project, and I wasn’t sure how much I’d be willing to do that but I wanted to at least dip my toe in. I’ll definitely be continuing to dig into this when I’ve got some time and as I get new information.

The picture is one I found of my mom and aunt when they were teenagers.

5K
Last weekend, I ran the Oakland Running Festival 5K for the third year in a row – it was lots of Oakland pride like usual and a fun and easy race where I got to run with and see lots of friends. Next step is to decide which 5K will be #2 for the year.

ImageBike Ride
This one is a bit like the family tree – my intention with having it on the list was to try it out and see how it went. We live in a pretty bikeable town, so if I found it relatively easy and fun, biking could be a great way to get around (to work, errands, etc.). But not knowing how hard it would be to ride the hills, not really knowing how to deal with biking in traffic, and not having ridden a bike for something like 10 years was holding me back.

This afternoon, Jon and I went on a ride, and it was a good time! It was easier than I thought, and the traffic wasn’t as challenging as I imagined. We just did about 3 miles near our apartment, but I’ll definitely be biking again soon.

South Africa Books
My goal is to read two before we leave. We’re about 6 weeks out, and I just started #1, Country of My Skull.

5pm Work Day Stoppage
I completed two weeks of stopping my work day at 5pm a week ago. I knew it’d be difficult, but it was harder than I thought. I did learn that I like working out after work – it created a distinct break between work and the evening in a really nice way.

ImageGirl Scouts
I helped out again yesterday with Casey’s troop by leading their “Money Manager” badge day. It turned out a lot better than I thought, and the girls seemed to enjoy it and get a lot of opportunities to do math and think about spending and saving money. This picture is of some of the girls when we took them to a grocery story to go “shopping”.

So, with these updates, an check-in on my progress so far on the overall list. With a third of the year done, I’ve completed 8 out of 30 and started to work on 6 others.

Finished
In progress

  1. Start looking into my family tree
  2. Six weeks of not drinking any soda
  3. Go back to Bermuda
  4. Visit Africa
  5. Finish a half-marathon
  6. Take a vacation by myself
  7. Take a bike ride
  8. Scan my old photos and share them
  9. Grow some sort of food to eat
  10. Take a photography class (scheduled for early May!)
  11. Buy a better camera
  12. One month of being fully hydrated (64 oz. water per day)
  13. Two months of writing down what I eat every day
  14. Plan a “30 Acts of Kindness” day for my 30th Birthday
  15. Finish the scarf I started
  16. Read two books about South Africa
  17. One month of exercising every single day
  18. Introduce 5 friends to Eatwell Farm (2 so far!)
  19. Two weeks of stopping my workday by 5 PM
  20. Two weeks of not reading any email before 10 AM
  21. Finish funding our 6-months of expenses emergency fund
  22. Visit the California Academy of Science
  23. One week of eating every dinner with something from our CSA box
  24. Help out with Casey’s Girl Scout Troop at least once
  25. Try 5 new Oakland restaurants – B Side BBQ, Pican, Vegan Soul Food, Chop Bar, and ________
  26. Donate meaningful amounts to at least two Oakland school board candidates
  27. Volunteer for at least two Oakland school board campaigns
  28. Volunteer for the Obama campaign
  29. Finish at least two 5K races (one down!)
  30. Try out more variety in the shoes I wear
