Updates on this crazy and fun life I am lucky enough to lead.

ImageCamera
#11 on the list is complete – my new Nikon D5100 arrived on Friday and is looking beautiful. I have no idea how to use any of its many features, but I’m looking forward to both an Intro to D-SLR class with Laila early next month and to taking Sierra up on her offer to show me a few things.

I took a few pictures this morning using it just as a point-and-shoot just to see how it felt in my hands. This picture of Barnum is the result of that mini shoot. Nothing special in terms of photography, but the happy accident of taking several pictures in a row quickly. It’s begging for a good caption.

Fried Food
Last weekend, Jon was working hard (less than a month out from graduation!) on various school and work related things, and I was happily doing anything but work. I was thinking about what to make for dinner later that night and thought it would be a good idea to do something interesting with the bit of goat cheese we had left in the fridge. Pinterest to the rescue, and I found a recipe for fried goat cheese. I have never fried anything in my life, but I thought it was a great time to start.

Yum.

Afterwards, I still had a decent amount of the ingredients left over but was out of goat cheese. I felt the need to fry something else, so I pulled out a jar of pickles we made last summer and fried those up. Also yummy.

Not pictured: Olive oil and its very low smoke point ended up with the fire alarm in our apartment building going off while I was in the middle of the pickles. The firefighters had to come to turn off the alarm. Ugh. I felt awful and ended up passing out strawberries to everyone to apologize for making them worry that there was a real fire happening. Sorry, neighbors! Maybe that’s enough frying of food for me for a long time.

Growing food
The potatoes continue to look like they’re going strong (won’t be able to tell until it’s time to dig them up, of course). The carrots I’ve been trying to grow seem to be stalling, though – the same is true for the basil and rosemary.

We also have been growing “cat grass” that I saw in the store and bought on a whim. We bring it inside every week or so and the cats go nuts eating it. We have to rescue it and put it back outside so that it can grow again.

Gym
My colleague and friend Marc has recently started going to Club One, a really nice gym in Downtown Oakland relatively close to our office. It’s about three times as expensive as my cheap gym, but oh man. SO. MUCH. NICER.

He gave me a 3-day pass and the folks there at the gym turned it into a week pass. I went 4 or 5 times and tried to check out everything it had to offer – a pool, great showers, a running track, lots of classes. I failed fast at a step class (that’s harder than you’d think!) but generally enjoyed myself and actually looked forward to going to the gym. I am going to join for a few months and see if it continues to entice me to love exercising. Might be a key ingredient to helping me accomplish #17 on my list. It will be well worth the money if I actually work out consistently.

B-Side BBQ and Chop Bar
I knocked off two more restaurants off my list (#25) recently as well, and both were very impressive. You know they’re good when I chose meals at both places with meat as the main ingredient (I normally eat a pretty meatless diet).

Chop Bar and B-Side BBQ – I recommend both to anyone in the Bay Area. Chop Bar is also a big supporter of GO (the nonprofit for which I work), which is another great thing about them.

See Jane Run 5k
I’m registered for this one on June 5th. It’s only 5 days after we get back from Africa, but I imagine I’ll make it work out somehow to complete #29 on the list.

So here’s an update with progress to date on the 30 by 30

Finished
In progress

  1. Start looking into my family tree
  2. Six weeks of not drinking any soda
  3. Go back to Bermuda
  4. Visit Africa (everything is booked – we leave on May 12)
  5. Finish a half-marathon
  6. Take a vacation by myself
  7. Take a bike ride
  8. Scan my old photos and share them
  9. Grow some sort of food to eat
  10. Take a photography class (scheduled for early May!)
  11. Buy a better camera
  12. One month of being fully hydrated (64 oz. water per day)
  13. Two months of writing down what I eat every day
  14. Plan a “30 Acts of Kindness” day for my 30th Birthday
  15. Finish the scarf I started
  16. Read two books about South Africa
  17. One month of exercising every single day
  18. Introduce 5 friends to Eatwell Farm (2 so far!)
  19. Two weeks of stopping my workday by 5 PM
  20. Two weeks of not reading any email before 10 AM
  21. Finish funding our 6-months of expenses emergency fund
  22. Visit the California Academy of Science
  23. One week of eating every dinner with something from our CSA box
  24. Help out with Casey’s Girl Scout Troop at least once
  25. Try 5 new Oakland restaurants – B Side BBQ, Pican, Vegan Soul Food, Chop Bar, and ________
  26. Donate meaningful amounts to at least two Oakland school board candidates
  27. Volunteer for at least two Oakland school board campaigns
  28. Volunteer for the Obama campaign
  29. Finish at least two 5K races (one down!)
  30. Try out more variety in the shoes I wear
